Ramblings on reading and writing

Becoming a writer takes a person who is diligent with their writing and who writes everyday.  Journaling or blogging helps the writing process because you are always thinking of writing topics, as well as forming ideas.  Each day you write makes you a more fluid and thoughtful writer.  Sophocles wrote Antigone first and then Oedipus Rex and then Oedipus at Colonus.  His writing matured over 10 years and you can see the progression of that maturity.  As a writer reflects on topics, his ideas begin to take shape and evolve; until one day, he is a confident writer.  That’s what I want this blog to do for me.  I want to throw out ideas and thoughts, become more fluid and in turn become a better writer.  Lately, I have found that when I am driving, I need something to write on or record on.  I have come up with some great topics and lost them because I didn’t write them down.  

There is only one way to become a better reader and that is to read!  You can become a better reader by listening to a reader read and following along.  Everyone loves to listen to a really good reader.  Also to become a better reader, you can read out loud and hear yourself.  You must READ to improve your reading and comprehension skills.  

I hear students say, “I hate reading.”  It is usually because they don’t understand what they just read.  Their eyes jump around the page.  Okay, use this blue paper and the eye pressure will relax and your eyes will stop jumping.  “I never understand what I just read.”  Okay, after each chapter write a sentence or two of what you think happened.  Reading is a skill.  To improve this skill, you have to use it.  Reading just one page a day is a great way to start.  Or read just one article or perhaps, a blog? each day and see your reading skills improve.  Before you know it, you will no longer be reading just one page – you will be reading a chapter… And the wheels on the bus…

If you can read and comprehend, you are smarter than MOST people in the world!  WOW!  I’m not real into numbers, but I bet the percentage is very high as far as intelligence level from readers to non-readers.  How exciting that you can develop your brain through reading.  Again my mantra – it doesn’t matter what you read; as long as you read.

 

Read and write everyday and watch your brain power increase!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

