You might need help becoming a reader

I loves me some books!

How many readers remember their first “real, adult” book? A bunch of hands are waving in the air. I do, too! It was Marjorie Morningstar by Herman Wouk! I was 12 and my aunt gave it to me. She probably doesn’t even know that she bolstered my reading resolve to read forever! (Jot a note to give her a call.) It was a lovely book about a girl who wants to be an actress… That’s what’s in adult books? Boy, lemme at ’em!
When I wasn’t singing, dancing, acting around the house, teaching the neighbor kids, beating up my sisters, well generally being a girl, I was reading. Not always, though.

One day, my mom asked my sister to read the recipe to her. My oldest sister wasn’t a very good reader, so my mom called my other sister and me into the kitchen to read the recipe to her. She found out that her girls who made good grades in school, couldn’t read very well. That started the “reading to mom while she cooked nights.” Each night one of us would read aloud to our mom while she cooked dinner until we all could read really well.

That wasn’t all! In the summer, my mom started reading books to us and then the whole neighborhood would be in our den listening to my mom read The Bobbsey Twins.
What great adventures they had and mom read all the books to us every summer. This instilled a love of reading in us. We have watched our mom reading her own books every day of our lives. One sister doesn’t read and two read everyday! I’d say that worked.

This all ties back to being able to tell students about books. The more you read, the more you can tell them and the more books they will check out, and become a life-long reader. Now that is influence of the very best kind!

Trying to promote a love for reading, I am a guest reader in many classes and love doing that. What a wonderful gift my mom gave us and it only took a little bit of time!

I love it when students come back for a new book… that’s why I do this!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

