He HATES reading!

This morning as I sat in my little school library working on the next mentoring lesson presentation, a young man from our GED program came into the library. 

“Hi, do you remember me?”

“Sure!  How are you liking your book?” I asked him.

“Do you remember that I HATE reading?”

“Yes, so does that mean you don’t like the book?”

“No, just the opposite!  I love it!  I have only read 4 books in my life!” said the 20 year old student.

“No one has ever taken the time to tell me about a book before you.  This book is incredible!  Do you have any more just like it?”  He asked enthusiastically.

“Well, no not exactly like that, but there is a sequel to that one that I found a bit repetitive.  You could try it, but I have another that you would like.  Would you like to try it?  Let me tell you a little about it.”

“That sounds like something that I would like.”

“Do you remember that you have to give me 20 pages before you decide whether you like it or not?”

“Yes, ma’am, I remember.”

“Are your eyes still jumping around the page?  Did you use your blue slip?”

“I can’t believe that something so easy would make my eyes calm down enough to read, and I can’t believe that ANYONE could have gotten me to read a book!”

 

3 Comments

  1. What a great story! It just proves the quote–“There is no such thing as a person who hates to read–there are only people who have not yet found the right book.” You must feel awesome to be a part of making that happen for this young man!

  2. Congratulations to you and the newly happy reader. I totally agree with bookmammal. I know a kid who couldn’t seem to start reading, and then suddenly he was going through The Hobbit, line by painful line. He could read by the end, because that was the story that broke through for him. It’s not all about textbooks and flashcards but creating desire!

Leave a Reply

